We Compared 6 Coccidiosis Products on Whether the Label Names Poultry

We compared six amprolium products on the spec that matters most for a flock: whether the label actually names poultry, plus pack size and price.

Published Prices and stock checked 7 min read

A hen standing in short grass with her head lowered, seen from the side
Photo: Jon Sullivan / inaturalist, CC BY 4.0

Almost everything on this page is the same drug. Amprolium is a thiamine analogue anticoccidial, sold as a coccidiostat, and it sits behind the Corid, AmproMed, Ampromax and CocciAid names. Three of these six listings state 9.6 percent amprolium. So the products do not differ on strength. They differ on price, on pack size and on one thing almost nobody checks.

That thing is the label. Which species does the listing actually cover? Only one of these six names poultry. The rest are cattle labels, calf labels, or listings that name no target species at all. Keepers reach for Corid because a forum told them to, and Corid's own listing is written for calves.

We want to be clear about what this guide is and is not. It compares listings on what they print. It does not tell you how much to give a bird. Coccidiosis kills chicks fast, the water dose turns on age, severity and body weight, and not one listing here states an egg withdrawal period. That is the first question a laying flock owner has, and none of these answer it.

Get the dose and the withdrawal from a vet or your state extension poultry line. Then use this page to work out which bottle to buy.

Our picks at a glance

Every product below wins one specific situation. Pick the row that matches your flock, your yard and your budget rather than reading top to bottom.

Compare every pick side by side

Swipe the table sideways to see every column on a phone.

6 corid for chickens compared on the specs that change the buying decision. Prices and availability checked 2026-08-08.
Product Award Price band Product ClassActive IngredientFormPack SizeLabelled For SpeciesAdministrationEgg WithdrawalListing Note Best use case Buy link
Durvet Ampromed Poultry Best Overall $30 to $60 Coccidiostat for the treatment of coccidiosis, the listing's own wordingNot stated, listing names Ampromed for poultry with no strengthNot stated1 gallonGrowing chickens, turkeys and laying hensNot statedNot statedThe only water-dosed pick whose listing names poultry, it says growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens, so it is the one that is on-label for a flock A keeper who wants an on-label poultry product rather than an off-label c… Check price for Durvet 698940 Ampromed for Poultry, 1 Gallon on Amazon
Fitter Critter Corid x2 Best Size for a Backyard Flock $30 to $60 Corid brand product, the listing names Huvepharma Corid but prints no drug class, no active ingredient and no strengthNot stated, listing names Huvepharma Corid with no percentageNot stated, listing only says it mixes with drinking water or is given as a drenchTwo 16 oz bottlesNot statedMixed with drinking water or given as a drench according to product directionsNot statedA third-party sealed bundle of two original Huvepharma Corid bottles plus a chart, the listing itself prints no dosing figures A backyard keeper with a handful of birds who wants a realistic quantity… Check price for Fitter Critter Packaged Bundle containing Huvepharma Corid 16oz 2 Pack w/Usage Chart on Amazon
Aurora CocciAid 9.6% Best Value per Gallon $60 to $120 Amprolium, listing calls it a generic for Corid, AmproMed and AmproliumAmprolium 9.6 percent, per the titleLiquid concentrate1 gallonNot statedDiluted, listing says it treats 800 gallons at the 0.012 percent levelNot statedListing prints coverage and a cost comparison to Corid but no dosing directions and no target species A larger operation or a group of keepers sharing a purchase, where a gall… Check price for Aurora CocciAid 9.6% Liquid Concentrate, Generic for Corid, AmproMed, Amprolium, 1Gal,1 Gallon on Amazon
Merial Corid gallon Best If You Were Told to Buy Corid by Name $60 to $120 Amprolium, a 9.6 percent amprolium solutionAmprolium solution 9.6 percentLiquid solution1 gallon, listing says 128 fl ozCalves, listing says it is palatable and readily accepted by cattleMixed with drinking water or given as a drenchNot statedListing says it is for the prevention and treatment of coccidiosis in calves, so poultry use is off-label Someone who has been told by name to buy Corid, wants exactly that produc… Check price for Corid - (9.6% Amprolium Solution) - Gallon on Amazon
Manna Pro Medicated Feed Best for Prevention in the Brooder Under $30 Medicated feed with added amprolium, a preventive ration and not a treatment for an active outbreakAmprolium, listing says added Amprolium but states no strengthCrumble feed5 lb bag, listing says 5 Pound (Pack of 1)Chicks and young chickens, listing says an extended feed window up to 16 weeksFed as the complete ration, the listing prints no mixing or dosing directionsNot statedListing says the amprolium aids in the prevention of coccidiosis, it makes no claim to treat birds that are already sick A keeper starting a batch of chicks in a brooder who wants to lower the o… Check price for Manna Pro Medicated Chick Starter Grower Feed, Amprolium & Protein, 5 lb on Amazon
Ampromax Amprolium 16 oz Best for the Smallest Upfront Spend Under $30 Amprolium solution, the listing gives no drug class and never says anticoccidial or coccidiosisAmprolium solution 9.6 percent, per the title and the listingWater-soluble liquidOne 16.9 oz bottleCattle, listing says for cattleMixed into drinking water or given as a drenchNot statedSmallest pack here at 16.9 oz, but the listing is a cattle label and never names poultry or coccidiosis, so flock use is off-label A keeper who wants the lowest possible upfront spend on a stated 9.6 perc… Check price for equine prime Ampromax Amprolium for Cattle (9.6%), 16.9 Ounces on Amazon

The full reviews

Each review below follows the same order: what it is, why it won its category, how it behaves in real use, and who should buy something else.

1 Best Overall

Durvet 698940 Ampromed for Poultry, 1 Gallon

Durvet 698940 Ampromed for Poultry (Durvet Ampromed Poultry)

The only listing on this page whose label names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens, which makes it the one on-label choice for a flock rather than an off-label cattle bottle.

What we liked

  • Label names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens
  • The only water-dosed pick here that is on-label for poultry
  • Listing describes it plainly as a coccidiostat for treating coccidiosis
  • Costs less than either of the other two gallons on this page

What we did not

  • A full gallon is far more than a backyard flock will use before the bottle ages out, so most of what you pay for is wasted
  • The listing states no active ingredient and no strength, so it cannot be compared with the 9.6 percent products on concentration
  • No administration directions and no egg withdrawal are printed, so you cannot mix a dose or clear your eggs from this listing alone

Key specifications

Dimensions
13 x 6.78 x 6.78 in (L x W x H)
Colour
White
Product Class
Coccidiostat for the treatment of coccidiosis, the listing's own wording
Active Ingredient
Not stated, listing names Ampromed for poultry with no strength
Form
Not stated
Pack Size
1 gallon
Labelled For Species
Growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens
Administration
Not stated
Egg Withdrawal
Not stated
Made In
United States
Listing Note
The only water-dosed pick whose listing names poultry, it says growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens, so it is the one that is on-label for a flock

Why the Durvet Ampromed Poultry wins this category

On one specification, and it is the specification that decides this category. The listing names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens. Nothing else on this page does.

Everything else here is either a cattle label, a calf label or a listing with no target species at all. That means treating a flock with them is off-label use, which in a food-producing animal is a veterinary decision rather than a shopping one. The Durvet Ampromed Poultry removes that question entirely.

Its listing also uses the right words for what the product is: a coccidiostat for the treatment of coccidiosis. That is the drug class, and it is more than several of the alternatives here manage to print.

Living with the Durvet Ampromed Poultry

The practical shape of the product is a 1 gallon jug, roughly 13 inches tall and around 6.75 inches square at the base, which stores upright on a shelf without much fuss.

What it does not come with is instructions you can act on. There are no administration directions in the listing and no strength, so the mixing rate has to come from the label printed on the jug itself or from a vet. Treat the listing as a purchase decision, not a dosing reference.

If you keep a large flock, or you share with a couple of other keepers nearby, a gallon at $56.03 is reasonable value against the two other gallons here at $61.86 and $103.60.

Where the Durvet Ampromed Poultry falls short

The size is wrong for most people reading this. A backyard flock of six to twelve birds treating a short course uses a small fraction of 128 fluid ounces. The rest sits in a shed losing shelf life, and you will bin most of it.

The blank specification lines are the second problem. No active ingredient, no strength, no form, no administration and no egg withdrawal. Three other listings here at least state 9.6 percent amprolium, which lets you compare them. This one cannot be compared on concentration at all, because it does not say.

The egg withdrawal gap is the one to take seriously. If you keep laying hens you need to know when the eggs are safe, and neither this listing nor any other on this page tells you. Ask a vet or your state extension poultry line before you put anything in the water.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the species named on the listing label, the stated pack size and product class, and the specification lines that the listing leaves blank, compared against the five other products in this guide.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer product class, pack size and labelled species from the live Amazon listing; Comparison of labelled species across all six products in this guide; Published guidance on off-label drug use in food-producing animals.

Best for
A keeper who wants an on-label poultry product rather than an off-label cattle bottle, and who has a large enough flock or a group of keepers to share a gallon with.
Skip it if
You keep six hens and need a short course, because a gallon will sit in the shed for years and you will still have to source dosing figures elsewhere.
The limitation to plan around
Plan around the missing paperwork. Strength, administration and egg withdrawal are all absent from the listing, so a vet or an extension poultry line has to supply them before you treat.

2 Best Size for a Backyard Flock

Fitter Critter Packaged Bundle containing Huvepharma Corid 16oz 2 Pack w/Usage Chart

Fitter Critter Packaged Bundle containing Huvepharma Corid 16oz 2 Pack w/Us… (Fitter Critter Corid x2)

Two genuine Huvepharma Corid 16 oz bottles rather than a gallon you will never finish, bundled by a third party with its own usage chart.

What we liked

  • Two 16 oz bottles suit a small flock far better than a gallon
  • Original Huvepharma Corid bottles inside a sealed bundle
  • A printed usage chart is included with the pack
  • Small footprint at about 6 by 3 by 3 inches for storage

What we did not

  • The listing prints no active ingredient, no strength and no dosing figures, so you are buying on the Corid name rather than on stated content
  • It names no target species, so poultry use here is off-label and the label question is left entirely to you
  • The included chart is a third-party document from the bundler, not the manufacturer's label, so it should not be treated as dosing authority

Key specifications

Dimensions
6 x 3 x 3 in (L x W x H)
Colour
Light Gold
Product Class
Corid brand product, the listing names Huvepharma Corid but prints no drug class, no active ingredient and no strength
Active Ingredient
Not stated, listing names Huvepharma Corid with no percentage
Form
Not stated, listing only says it mixes with drinking water or is given as a drench
Pack Size
Two 16 oz bottles
Labelled For Species
Not stated
Administration
Mixed with drinking water or given as a drench according to product directions
Egg Withdrawal
Not stated
Included Guide
Printed Fitter Critter usage chart
Listing Note
A third-party sealed bundle of two original Huvepharma Corid bottles plus a chart, the listing itself prints no dosing figures

Why the Fitter Critter Corid x2 wins this category

Because quantity is the thing most keepers get wrong here. Three of the products on this page are sold by the gallon. A gallon is 128 fluid ounces, and a flock of six to twelve hens treating a short course will use a small part of that and store the rest until it ages out.

The Fitter Critter Corid x2 is two 16 oz bottles. That is a quantity a backyard flock can plausibly get through, and the second bottle covers you if there is a repeat outbreak later in the season.

It is also the recognised name. The bottles inside are original Huvepharma Corid, which is what people mean when they say Corid, sealed into a bundle with a printed usage chart.

Living with the Fitter Critter Corid x2

The box is small, about 6 by 3 by 3 inches, so it stores in a first aid tote rather than taking a shelf in the shed.

Administration, as far as the listing goes, is mixed with drinking water or given as a drench according to product directions. Those product directions are on the bottle label, not in the listing, so read the bottle when it arrives.

The included chart is a convenience, and it is worth being clear about what it is. It is a Fitter Critter document, produced by the company bundling the product, not a manufacturer label or a veterinary instruction.

Where the Fitter Critter Corid x2 falls short

The listing is remarkably empty. No active ingredient. No strength. No form. No dosing figures. It names Huvepharma Corid and expects you to know the rest. Three other products in this guide state amprolium at 9.6 percent, which lets you compare them directly. This one cannot be placed against them until the bottle is in your hand.

It names no target species either, so poultry use is off-label and you are on your own with that decision. If staying on-label matters to you, the Durvet Ampromed Poultry listing is the one that names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens.

There is no egg withdrawal figure here, as with everything else on this page. For a laying flock that is the question that matters most, and it needs to come from a vet or your state extension poultry line rather than from a bundler's chart.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the stated pack contents and dimensions, the third-party bundling arrangement, and the specification lines the listing leaves blank compared with the other five products here.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer pack contents, dimensions and included guide from the live Amazon listing; Comparison of pack size against realistic backyard flock consumption; Comparison of stated active ingredient and labelled species across all six products in this guide.

Best for
A backyard keeper with a handful of birds who wants a realistic quantity of a recognised product instead of committing to a gallon jug.
Skip it if
You want the specification printed before you buy, because this listing states no active ingredient, no strength and no target species.
The limitation to plan around
Plan around reading the actual bottle. All the usable information is on the Huvepharma label inside the box, not in the listing you order from.

3 Best Value per Gallon

Aurora CocciAid 9.6% Liquid Concentrate, Generic for Corid, AmproMed, Amprolium, 1Gal,1 Gallon

Aurora CocciAid 9.6% Liquid Concentrate

At $61.86 a gallon it is the cheapest per fluid ounce of the three listings here that actually state 9.6 percent amprolium, and the listing prints its dilution coverage rather than leaving you guessing.

What we liked

  • States amprolium at 9.6 percent, so it can be compared like for like
  • Cheapest per fluid ounce of the three stated 9.6 percent products here
  • Listing prints coverage of 800 gallons at the 0.012 percent level
  • Sold plainly as a generic for Corid, AmproMed and Amprolium

What we did not

  • The listing names no target species at all, so there is nothing on it that supports use in poultry rather than any other animal
  • It prints coverage figures but no dosing directions, so the number that tells you how much to mix is not on the listing
  • A gallon dilutes to 800 gallons of treated water, which is many times what a backyard flock will ever draw before the concentrate ages

Key specifications

Dimensions
12 x 6 x 6 in (L x W x H)
Weight
1 pounds
Colour
Yellow
Product Class
Amprolium, listing calls it a generic for Corid, AmproMed and Amprolium
Active Ingredient
Amprolium 9.6 percent, per the title
Form
Liquid concentrate
Pack Size
1 gallon
Labelled For Species
Not stated
Administration
Diluted, listing says it treats 800 gallons at the 0.012 percent level
Egg Withdrawal
Not stated
Made In
United States
Listing Note
Listing prints coverage and a cost comparison to Corid but no dosing directions and no target species

Why the Aurora CocciAid 9.6% wins this category

Because it is the only value claim on this page that can be checked. Three listings here state amprolium at 9.6 percent: this one, the Merial Corid gallon and the Equine Prime Ampromax. Those three can be compared on price per fluid ounce because you know what is in them.

At $61.86 for a gallon, the Aurora CocciAid 9.6% comes out cheapest of that group. The Merial Corid gallon is $103.60 for the same volume at the same stated concentration. The Ampromax is $24.49 for 16.9 fluid ounces, which is a far higher rate per ounce even though the sticker looks small.

The Durvet gallon is cheaper at $56.03, but its listing states no strength, so it cannot enter a cost-per-unit-of-drug comparison at all.

Living with the Aurora CocciAid 9.6%

It is a liquid concentrate in a 1 gallon jug, roughly 12 by 6 by 6 inches, made in the United States and sold openly as a generic for Corid, AmproMed and Amprolium.

The listing is more forthcoming than most here on coverage. It states that the gallon treats 800 gallons of water at the 0.012 percent level, which at least tells you the scale the product was designed for.

That figure is coverage, not a dose. It tells you how far the concentrate stretches, not how much to give birds of a given age and weight, and the listing does not bridge that gap.

Where the Aurora CocciAid 9.6% falls short

It names no target species. Not poultry, not cattle, not anything. That is the specification this guide is built around, and this listing simply does not have it. If you want a product whose label names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens, that is the Durvet Ampromed Poultry, not this.

The quantity is also out of proportion for a backyard flock. Eight hundred gallons of treated water is a commercial figure. A dozen birds will not draw that in years, so the concentrate will age in the jug long before it is used up.

And as with every listing on this page, there is no egg withdrawal figure. If you keep laying hens, get that from a vet or your state extension poultry line before you treat, and do not read the silence as a green light.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the stated 9.6 percent amprolium concentration, the published dilution coverage, and cost per fluid ounce against the two other listings here that state the same concentration.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer active ingredient, form and coverage figures from the live Amazon listing; Cost per fluid ounce calculated across the three products here stating 9.6 percent amprolium; Comparison of labelled species across all six products in this guide.

Best for
A larger operation or a group of keepers sharing a purchase, where a gallon of stated 9.6 percent concentrate is genuinely going to get used.
Skip it if
You want a product whose label names your animal, because this listing states no target species whatsoever.
The limitation to plan around
Plan around the dilution scale. One gallon treats a stated 800 gallons of water at 0.012 percent, which is a commercial quantity in a backyard setting.

4 Best If You Were Told to Buy Corid by Name

Corid - (9.6% Amprolium Solution) - Gallon

Merial Corid - (9.6% Amprolium Solution) - Gallon (Merial Corid gallon)

If someone told you to get Corid, this is literally it: a gallon of 9.6 percent amprolium solution under the Corid name. The label is written for calves, not for chickens.

What we liked

  • States amprolium solution at 9.6 percent on the listing
  • The Corid name people are actually sent to buy
  • Listing names both mixing with drinking water and drench use
  • Describes itself clearly as for prevention and treatment of coccidiosis

What we did not

  • Its label covers calves, so any use in a laying flock is off-label and belongs to a veterinarian rather than a forum thread
  • At $103.60 it is the most expensive product on this page, and it is the dearest per fluid ounce of the three gallons here
  • No egg withdrawal is stated anywhere on the listing, which is the first question a laying flock owner has to answer

Key specifications

Dimensions
5.5 x 5.5 x 12 in (L x W x H)
Weight
8.94 pounds
Product Class
Amprolium, a 9.6 percent amprolium solution
Active Ingredient
Amprolium solution 9.6 percent
Form
Liquid solution
Pack Size
1 gallon, listing says 128 fl oz
Labelled For Species
Calves, listing says it is palatable and readily accepted by cattle
Administration
Mixed with drinking water or given as a drench
Egg Withdrawal
Not stated
Listing Note
Listing says it is for the prevention and treatment of coccidiosis in calves, so poultry use is off-label

Why the Merial Corid gallon wins this category

It wins on recognition, and we should be honest that recognition is what this award is. When a keeper is told to get Corid, this is the product they mean. Same name, same 9.6 percent amprolium solution, a full gallon of it.

There is a reason people ask for it by name. Corid is the brand that has been passed around poultry forums and feed store counters for decades, and buying the actual thing removes the doubt about whether a generic is the same drug.

It also states its administration in plain terms: mixed with drinking water or given as a drench. Several listings in this guide do not manage that much.

Living with the Merial Corid gallon

The jug is 8.94 pounds and roughly 5.5 by 5.5 by 12 inches, so it stores upright in the corner of a shed without hogging shelf space. The listing gives the volume as 128 fluid ounces, which is a standard gallon.

The drug itself is amprolium, a thiamine analogue anticoccidial, and it is the same active compound as the Aurora CocciAid and the Equine Prime Ampromax at the same stated 9.6 percent. Nothing about this bottle is stronger than those. What differs is the name on it and the price.

If a vet has told you to use Corid specifically, this is the product that matches that instruction without ambiguity.

Where the Merial Corid gallon falls short

The label is for calves. The listing says it is for the prevention and treatment of coccidiosis in calves, and describes the solution as palatable and readily accepted by cattle. That means poultry use is off-label. Off-label use in a food-producing animal is a veterinary decision, and it carries consequences for both dosing and egg withdrawal that a cattle label was never written to cover.

Price is the second issue. At $103.60 this is the most expensive product on this page, and the dearest per fluid ounce of the three gallons here. The Aurora CocciAid gallon states the same 9.6 percent amprolium for $60.99.

And there is no egg withdrawal figure. On a calf label there would be no reason to print one for hens, which is exactly the problem with reaching for it. Ask a vet or your state extension poultry line before any treated bird's eggs go in the kitchen.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the stated 9.6 percent amprolium concentration, the calf labelling printed in the listing, and price per fluid ounce against the two other gallons in this guide.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer active ingredient, pack size and labelled species from the live Amazon listing; Price per fluid ounce compared across the three gallon products in this guide; Published guidance on off-label drug use in food-producing animals.

Best for
Someone who has been told by name to buy Corid, wants exactly that product, and has a vet involved in the decision to use it in poultry.
Skip it if
You want a product whose label covers your birds, because this one is written for calves and says so plainly.
The limitation to plan around
Plan around the off-label question. This is a calf product, and using it in food-producing poultry is a veterinary decision, not a shopping one.

5 Best for Prevention in the Brooder

Manna Pro Medicated Chick Starter Grower Feed, Amprolium & Protein, 5 lb

Manna Pro Medicated Chick Starter Grower Feed (Manna Pro Medicated Feed)

A medicated brooder ration, not a treatment. The listing says the added amprolium aids in prevention of coccidiosis, and it makes no claim to help a bird that is already sick.

What we liked

  • A complete 18 percent protein crumble, not just a medication
  • Added amprolium aimed at prevention in young birds
  • Listing states an extended feed window up to 16 weeks
  • Small 5 lb bag suits a single brooder batch

What we did not

  • This is a preventive ration and does nothing for a bird that already has an active outbreak, so buying it in a crisis wastes days a sick chick does not have
  • The listing states added amprolium but gives no strength, so you cannot tell how much medication the birds are actually receiving
  • Medicated feed must not be given alongside a water treatment without veterinary advice, because the two together stack an unknown total dose

Key specifications

Dimensions
13 x 10 x 4.5 in (L x W x H)
Weight
5 pounds
Protein
18 percent, per the listing
Medicated
Yes, amprolium
Form
Crumble feed
Bag Size
5 lb
Organic
No
Feed Until
Week 8, then grower
Product Class
Medicated feed with added amprolium, a preventive ration and not a treatment for an active outbreak
Active Ingredient
Amprolium, listing says added Amprolium but states no strength
Pack Size
5 lb bag, listing says 5 Pound (Pack of 1)
Labelled For Species
Chicks and young chickens, listing says an extended feed window up to 16 weeks
Administration
Fed as the complete ration, the listing prints no mixing or dosing directions
Egg Withdrawal
Not stated
Listing Note
Listing says the amprolium aids in the prevention of coccidiosis, it makes no claim to treat birds that are already sick

Why the Manna Pro Medicated Feed wins this category

It sits in its own lane on this page, and the lane is prevention. The listing is explicit: the added amprolium aids in the prevention of coccidiosis. It does not claim to treat birds that are already ill, and we are not going to stretch it into something it is not.

For that job it makes sense. Coccidia are in the ground almost everywhere birds have been kept, and chicks meet them in the first weeks of life. A medicated starter is the standard way keepers reduce the chance of an outbreak taking hold while a chick's own immunity builds.

At $6.97 for a 5 lb bag, the Manna Pro Medicated Feed is also the cheapest thing on this page by a wide margin, and it is a complete ration rather than an additive.

Living with the Manna Pro Medicated Feed

It is a crumble at 18 percent protein, fed as the complete ration, with a listing that describes an extended feed window running up to 16 weeks. That covers the brooder period and the grow-out that follows.

Five pounds is a small bag. For a batch of a dozen chicks it is a starting quantity rather than the whole job, so expect to buy several through the rearing period.

One rule that comes with medicated feed and is easy to miss: if you also vaccinated your chicks against coccidiosis at the hatchery, a medicated ration can work against the vaccine. Check what your chicks arrived with before you open the bag.

Where the Manna Pro Medicated Feed falls short

The important limit is what it does not do. If you have a chick hunched in the corner with blood in the droppings, this bag will not help it. Coccidiosis kills chicks fast, and switching feed is not a treatment. That bird needs a vet or a call to your state extension poultry line today, and the answer may or may not be amprolium in the water.

The listing also states no strength for the amprolium it contains, so there is no way to know how much medication the birds are getting. That matters more than usual here, because feeding a medicated ration while also dosing the water stacks two unknown amounts of the same drug. Do not run both without veterinary advice.

And there is no egg withdrawal figure, which will matter if you carry the feed on into pullets approaching lay.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the listing's own wording that the added amprolium aids in prevention, the stated protein level and feed window, and the absence of any strength or dosing figure.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer product class, protein level and feed window from the live Amazon listing; The listing's explicit prevention wording compared against the treatment products in this guide; Published brooder husbandry guidance on medicated starter rations.

Best for
A keeper starting a batch of chicks in a brooder who wants to lower the odds of coccidiosis taking hold before any bird gets sick.
Skip it if
You have birds showing signs right now, because this is a preventive feed and an active outbreak needs a diagnosis and a treatment plan from a vet.
The limitation to plan around
Plan around what it is not. This is feed with a preventive additive, and it should never be substituted for treatment when birds are already unwell.

6 Best for the Smallest Upfront Spend

equine prime Ampromax Amprolium for Cattle (9.6%), 16.9 Ounces

equine prime Ampromax Amprolium for Cattle (9.6%) (Ampromax Amprolium 16 oz)

At $24.49 for 16.9 fl oz it is the smallest bottle of stated 9.6 percent amprolium here, though the listing is a cattle label that never once uses the word coccidiosis.

What we liked

  • Smallest liquid pack on this page at 16.9 fl oz
  • States amprolium solution at 9.6 percent
  • Water-soluble, so it mixes into drinking water or is given as a drench
  • Lowest upfront cost of any water-dosed product here

What we did not

  • The listing is a cattle label and never says coccidiosis or anticoccidial, so it tells you nothing about what the product is meant to treat
  • It is the dearest per fluid ounce of the three products here that state 9.6 percent amprolium, so the small sticker hides a high unit rate
  • No target species other than cattle is named, which leaves poultry use off-label with no supporting guidance on the listing at all

Key specifications

Size
16.9 Ounces
Product Class
Amprolium solution, the listing gives no drug class and never says anticoccidial or coccidiosis
Active Ingredient
Amprolium solution 9.6 percent, per the title and the listing
Form
Water-soluble liquid
Pack Size
One 16.9 oz bottle
Labelled For Species
Cattle, listing says for cattle
Administration
Mixed into drinking water or given as a drench
Egg Withdrawal
Not stated
Listing Note
Smallest pack here at 16.9 oz, but the listing is a cattle label and never names poultry or coccidiosis, so flock use is off-label

Why the Ampromax Amprolium 16 oz wins this category

Because it is the smallest amount of money you can spend on a stated 9.6 percent amprolium solution on this page. At $24.49 for 16.9 fluid ounces, it is under half the cost of the cheapest gallon here, which is the Durvet at $56.03. The Manna Pro Medicated Feed at $6.97 is cheaper still, but that is a preventive ration and not a treatment, so it is not an alternative to this bottle.

For a backyard keeper that matters more than it sounds. The alternative at the bottom of this category is committing $56.03 or more to a gallon that a dozen hens will never finish, and a bottle of concentrate does not improve with age in a shed.

It is also water-soluble and can be mixed into drinking water or given as a drench, which is how amprolium is normally administered to a flock.

Living with the Ampromax Amprolium 16 oz

Sixteen point nine ounces is a bottle you can keep in a first aid box rather than on a shelf, and it is a realistic quantity to replace fresh when you need it rather than storing a part-used gallon.

The stated content is amprolium solution at 9.6 percent, which is exactly the same stated concentration as the Aurora CocciAid gallon and the Merial Corid gallon. Nothing about the bigger jugs is stronger.

What the listing gives you is a product and a concentration. What it does not give you is a reason to buy it for chickens, and you should take that seriously rather than working around it.

Where the Ampromax Amprolium 16 oz falls short

The listing never says coccidiosis. Not once. It names amprolium for cattle, states the strength, and stops there. It gives no drug class, no anticoccidial claim, and no indication of what the product is meant to treat. That is a strange thing to buy on if you are treating a flock.

The species question follows from that. It is a cattle label, so poultry use is off-label, and the listing offers nothing to help. If staying on-label matters, the Durvet Ampromed Poultry is the listing here that names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens.

The value is also narrower than the sticker suggests. Per fluid ounce this is the most expensive of the three products here that state 9.6 percent amprolium. Among the three stated 9.6 percent products it is the cheapest way in, not the cheapest drug. And like everything else on this page it prints no egg withdrawal, so a vet or your state extension poultry line has to answer that before you treat laying birds.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the stated 9.6 percent amprolium concentration, the cattle labelling, the absence of any mention of coccidiosis, and cost per fluid ounce against the other 9.6 percent listings here.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer active ingredient, pack size and labelled species from the live Amazon listing; Cost per fluid ounce compared across the three products here stating 9.6 percent amprolium; Published guidance on off-label drug use in food-producing animals.

Best for
A keeper who wants the lowest possible upfront spend on a stated 9.6 percent amprolium solution and is working from veterinary instructions rather than the listing.
Skip it if
You need the listing itself to tell you what the product treats, because this one names cattle and never mentions coccidiosis.
The limitation to plan around
Plan around the unit cost. The bottle is cheap but the price per fluid ounce is the highest of the stated 9.6 percent products in this guide.

How we compared these coccidiosis products

The first question was the one that reorders this category: which species does the label name?

That sounds like paperwork. It is not. A label tells you the product was reviewed for use in that animal, at that concentration, with that withdrawal. A cattle label has been through none of that for a laying hen. Using it in poultry is off-label use, which is legal in the right circumstances but is a veterinary decision in food-producing animals rather than a shopping decision.

Only the Durvet Ampromed listing names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens. The Merial Corid gallon names calves. The Equine Prime Ampromax names cattle and never says coccidiosis at all. Aurora CocciAid names no target species. The Fitter Critter bundle names none either, and prints no active ingredient, no strength and no dosing figures.

After that we looked at stated strength, at pack size against realistic backyard use, and at price within comparable groups. We noted every listing that omits dosing directions and every listing that omits an egg withdrawal, which is all six of them.

Nothing here has been used on a bird by us. These are listing comparisons.

What actually matters when you buy amprolium

The drug is the same, so stop shopping on strength

Amprolium is a thiamine analogue. It works by competing with thiamine uptake in the coccidia, which is why the drug class is a coccidiostat rather than a killer of established parasites. Corid, AmproMed, Ampromax and CocciAid are all trade names sitting over the same compound.

Three listings here state 9.6 percent: Aurora CocciAid, the Merial Corid gallon and the Equine Prime Ampromax. The Durvet and Fitter Critter listings state no strength at all. So the honest position is that we can rank three of these as equal in concentration and cannot rank the other two.

What that leaves you comparing is price, pack size and label.

Pack size is where the money is lost

A gallon is 128 fluid ounces. A backyard flock treating a short course uses a small fraction of that, and the rest sits in a shed losing whatever shelf life it has.

Among the three gallons, Durvet is $56.03, Aurora is $60.99 and the Merial Corid is $103.60. Among the three listings that state 9.6 percent amprolium, Aurora at $60.99 a gallon works out cheapest per fluid ounce, ahead of the Merial gallon at $103.60 and well ahead of the Equine Prime Ampromax at $24.49 for 16.9 fluid ounces. That is why Aurora carries the value award even though the Durvet gallon has a lower sticker price: Durvet prints no strength, so it cannot be compared on cost per unit of drug at all.

If you have six hens, the sensible size is small. The Fitter Critter bundle of two 16 oz bottles at $51.99 or the single 16.9 oz Ampromax at $24.49 are far closer to what you will actually use.

Nobody prints an egg withdrawal

This is the gap that should bother you most. Six listings, zero egg withdrawal figures. For a flock of laying hens that is the first practical question after the dose, and the listings do not answer it.

Get it from the label on the bottle that arrives, or from a vet. Do not read silence as permission.

Prevention and treatment are different products

The Manna Pro Medicated Chick Starter at $6.97 sits on this page because keepers search for it alongside the rest, and it belongs in its own lane. Its listing says the added amprolium aids in the prevention of coccidiosis. It makes no claim to treat sick birds, and we will not make one for it.

Feed a medicated starter to lower the risk in a brooder. Treat an outbreak with a diagnosis and a plan from a vet. Those are not the same job and the products are not interchangeable.

When to stop reading and call a vet

Coccidiosis moves fast in chicks. Blood in the droppings, birds huddled and ruffled, a chick that will not stand, or two dead overnight in a brooder that was fine yesterday are all reasons to make a call today rather than order something and wait for delivery.

A vet can confirm what you are dealing with with a faecal float, usually for a modest fee. That matters because worms and necrotic enteritis look very similar from the outside, and amprolium does nothing for either.

Most states run an extension poultry line staffed by people who deal with this every week, and it is normally free. If you have never used yours, look it up now and keep the number in the coop, not in a browser tab.

Two things we will not do on this page: give you a water concentration, or tell you when the eggs are safe. Both belong to somebody who can see the birds.

Final recommendation

Durvet Ampromed for Poultry at $56.03 is the pick, on one specific ground: it is the only listing here whose label names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens. That is the difference between an on-label product for your flock and a cattle bottle you are using off-label. Its own drawbacks are real, and we set them out in the review.

If a gallon is absurd for six hens, the Fitter Critter Corid x2 at $51.99 puts two genuine Huvepharma Corid 16 oz bottles in your hand, and the Ampromax Amprolium 16 oz at $24.49 is the smallest upfront spend on any water-dosed product here. The Manna Pro Medicated Feed at $6.97 is cheaper than all of them, but it is a preventive ration rather than a treatment, so it is not a like-for-like comparison. If you were told to buy Corid by name and want exactly that, the Merial Corid gallon is it, at $103.60 and on a calf label. And for a brooder, the Manna Pro Medicated Feed is a preventive ration, not a treatment, and should never be used as one.

Questions people ask before buying

Is Corid actually labelled for chickens?

The Merial Corid gallon compared here is not. Its listing says it is for the prevention and treatment of coccidiosis in calves, and describes the solution as palatable and readily accepted by cattle. Using a cattle-labelled product in poultry is off-label use, and off-label use in food-producing animals is a decision for a veterinarian, not a forum. The one listing on this page whose label names growing chickens, turkeys and laying hens is Durvet Ampromed for Poultry. If you want to stay on-label for a flock, that is the one.

How much amprolium do I give my chickens?

We are not going to print a dose, and you should be wary of any affiliate page that does. The water concentration depends on the age of the birds, how severe the outbreak is, body weight and whether you are treating or preventing. Several of the listings compared here print no dosing directions at all. Call a vet, or ring your state extension poultry line, which is free in most states and staffed by people who handle this weekly. Getting the concentration wrong in either direction is a real risk.

Can I eat the eggs while treating with amprolium?

Not one of the six listings on this page states an egg withdrawal period, and that is the honest answer to give you. Withdrawal guidance depends on the specific product, the concentration used and your state's rules, so it has to come from the label on the bottle you actually buy or from a veterinarian. Do not assume there is no withdrawal simply because the listing does not mention one. Ask before you treat, and set the eggs aside until you have an answer you trust.

Is one of these stronger than the others?

No. Three of these listings state amprolium at 9.6 percent, which is the Aurora CocciAid, the Merial Corid gallon and the Equine Prime Ampromax. The Durvet Ampromed listing and the Fitter Critter bundle print no strength at all, so we cannot rank them against the others on concentration. What genuinely differs across this page is price, pack size and which species the label names. Anyone selling you one of these as more potent than another is selling you the label, not the drug.

Does medicated chick starter treat a sick bird?

No, and the distinction matters. The Manna Pro Medicated Chick Starter listing says the added amprolium aids in the prevention of coccidiosis. It makes no claim to treat birds that are already sick, and we are not going to imply one. A medicated ration is a brooder feed that lowers the odds of an outbreak taking hold in young birds. A chick that is hunched, bloody in the droppings or going off its feet is a sick bird and needs a diagnosis and a treatment plan from a vet, not a bag of feed.

How do I know it is coccidiosis and not something else?

You often cannot tell by looking, which is why a diagnosis is worth paying for. Blood in the droppings, huddling, ruffled feathers, pale combs and sudden deaths in young birds all point that way, but worms, necrotic enteritis and several other problems overlap heavily on those signs. A vet can run a faecal float for a modest fee and tell you whether you are treating the right thing. Treating blind wastes days that a chick with coccidiosis does not have.

Why you can trust this guide

Written by
Marta Voss, Editor and fact checker, Chicken Geek. Specialist areas: Editorial fact checking, Chick brooding and starter nutrition, Small-flock husbandry, Feed labels and nutrition claims.
Fact checked by
Sam Reddick
Published
August 8, 2026 · Last updated August 8, 2026 · Products and links rechecked August 8, 2026
How we picked
Products were compared first on which species the label actually names, then on stated active ingredient and strength, then on pack size against what a backyard flock will realistically use before a bottle ages out, then on price per stated unit within like-for-like groups, with the absence of dosing directions and egg withdrawal figures recorded on every listing that omits them.
Evidence used
None of the 6 products on this page were sent to us or bought for a hands-on test. Every recommendation here is research based: manufacturer specifications, listed dimensions and materials, owner feedback at volume, and comparison against equipment our team has owned. Each review states this again above the buy button so you are never guessing which kind of evidence sits behind a pick.
Editorial standards
No brand pays for placement, and no manufacturer sees this page before it goes live. Read our editorial policy and testing method.
Affiliate disclosure
Chicken Geek is reader supported. We earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you, and no brand has paid for a placement or an award here.

About the author

Monogram avatar with the initials M V

Marta Voss

Editor and fact checker, Chicken Geek

Marta edits every guide on Chicken Geek and checks that each claim can be traced back to a manufacturer specification, a published standard or a stated first-hand observation. She keeps a small backyard flock of six hens and has raised chicks from day one for eight seasons.

  • Eight seasons raising chicks from day-old to point of lay
  • Checks every specification in a Chicken Geek guide against the manufacturer listing
  • Removes any testing claim that cannot be backed up
  • Keeps a flock of six hens in a suburban backyard