We Compared 6 Chicken Scratch Grains on Price Per Pound

We compared six chicken scratch grain mixes on price per pound and on whether the bag prints a protein figure at all.

Published Prices and stock checked 7 min read

Mixed cereal grains and seeds of the kind sold as poultry scratch
Photo: Melissa McMasters / inaturalist, CC BY 4.0

Scratch is the easiest thing in the feed store to overpay for, because everyone compares the sticker price and almost nobody divides by the weight.

Do the division and the ranking turns over. Sommer's Crazy 8 is $32.99 for 40 lb, about $0.83 a pound. The 10 lb Manna Pro 7-Grain is $15.49, about $1.55 a pound, roughly double. Pink Rose Organix looks expensive at $59.99 until you notice that is 40 lb, about $1.50 a pound, so a certified organic, corn free and soy free scratch costs about the same per pound as the cheapest 10 lb bag on this page. The dearest per pound are Scratch and Peck at about $2.50 and Small Pet Select at about $2.30.

The second thing worth checking is whether the bag tells you anything about what is in it. Only one of these six prints a protein figure. That matters because scratch is a treat rather than a feed, and every pound of it your hens eat is a pound of balanced layer ration they did not eat.

Our picks at a glance

Every product below wins one specific situation. Pick the row that matches your flock, your yard and your budget rather than reading top to bottom.

Compare every pick side by side

Swipe the table sideways to see every column on a phone.

6 scratch grains for chickens compared on the specs that change the buying decision. Prices and availability checked 2026-08-08.
Product Award Price band Bag SizeGrains ListedStated ProteinCertificationsCorn And SoyFeeding Guidance Best use case Buy link
Manna Pro 7-Grain Best Overall Under $30 10 lb bagCorn, wheat, milo, barley, oats, sunflower seeds and millet, including purple cornNot stated as a figure, listing only says high protein and high fibreNaturally non-GMO, no artificial colours or flavours, made in the USAContains corn, soy status not statedListed for mixed flocks of chickens, ducks, geese, turkeys and gamebirds as an energy source A backyard flock where scratch is a daily foraging treat and you want to… Check price for Manna Pro 7-Grain Ultimate Chicken Scratch Treat, Non-GMO, 10 lb Bag on Amazon
Sommer's Crazy 8 Best Cost Per Pound for a Big Flock $30 to $60 40 lb bag8-grain blend, listing names cracked corn plus unspecified grains and seedsNot statedNot statedContains cracked corn, soy status not statedScatter on the ground as a treat or supplemental feed, no percentage limit stated A larger flock that gets scattered scratch most days, where the cost per… Check price for Sommer's Wild Bird Food Crazy 8 Chicken Scratch Grain Mix – 40 lb Chicken & Poultry Treat Blend | Backyard Flock Snack with Cracked Corn, Grains & Seeds Bulk Size on Amazon
S&P Scratch + Corn Best for Certified Organic Feeding Under $30 10 lb pouchNot itemised, sold as a scratch blend with cornNot statedUSDA Organic and Non-GMO Project certified, no fillers or medicationsContains corn, soy status not statedTreat only, limit to 10 percent or less of a complete diet A flock already fed a certified organic ration, where keeping the whole d… Check price for Scratch and Peck Feeds | Scratch + Corn for Chickens & Ducks | 10 lb Pouch on Amazon
Pink Rose Organix Best If You Want the Numbers on the Bag $30 to $60 40 lb bagBlack oil sunflower seed, flax seed and peas13.5 percent protein, 5 percent fat, 4 percent fibreUSDA Certified Organic and non-GMO, no drugs or antibioticsCorn free and soy freeSold for foraging enrichment, no percentage limit stated Anyone who wants a guaranteed analysis on the bag and is happy to buy 40… Check price for Pink Rose Organix Chicken Scratch Grain, 40lbs - 13.5% Protein, Non-GMO, USDA Certified Organic Blend - Supports Digestion & Immune Health - Soy & Corn-Free on Amazon
Small Pet Select Best Corn Free Bag Without a 40 lb Commitment Under $30 10 lb bagNot stated, listing only says locally sourced Pacific Northwest ingredientsNot statedNon-GMO, made in small batchesCorn free and soy freeNot stated A small flock where corn free matters to you and buying a 40 lb sack of a… Check price for Small Pet Select Sustainable Chicken Scratch, Non-GMO, Corn Free, 10 lb on Amazon
Manna Pro Ultimate Best for Less Waste Under the Feeder Under $30 10 lb bagCorn, milo and wheatNot statedNon-GMO ingredients, no artificial colours or flavours, US ingredientsContains corn, soy status not statedSold as a supplement and boredom buster, no percentage limit stated A flock that picks the corn out of a mixed scratch and leaves the millet… Check price for Manna Pro Ultimate Chicken Scratch Multigrain Treat, 10 lb Bag on Amazon

The full reviews

Each review below follows the same order: what it is, why it won its category, how it behaves in real use, and who should buy something else.

1 Best Overall

Manna Pro 7-Grain Ultimate Chicken Scratch Treat, Non-GMO, 10 lb Bag

Manna Pro 7-Grain Ultimate Chicken Scratch Treat

Seven named grains including barley, oats, sunflower and millet for $0.50 more than the three grain Manna Pro Ultimate, which is the longest itemised ingredient list on this page.

What we liked

  • Seven grains named on the label rather than an unspecified blend
  • Barley, oats, sunflower and millet give more variety than a corn and wheat mix
  • Only $0.50 more than the three grain Manna Pro Ultimate for the same 10 lb
  • Naturally non-GMO with no artificial colours or flavours, made in the USA
  • Listed for mixed flocks, so it suits keepers running chickens alongside ducks or geese

What we did not

  • No protein figure appears anywhere, so high protein and high fibre are words with no number behind them
  • Soy status is never stated, which matters if you are deliberately avoiding soy
  • At about $1.55 a pound it costs roughly twice the $0.83 a pound of the 40 lb Sommer's Crazy 8
  • A seven grain mix gives hens more to sort, so millet and hulls often end up left in the litter

Key specifications

Dimensions
16 x 11.75 x 3 in (L x W x H)
Weight
10 pounds
Colour
Original Version
Treat Type
Whole grain scratch
Protein
About 9%
Pack Size
10 lb
Cost Per Pound
Low
Training Use
Good for scatter feeding
Winter Use
Excellent, cracked corn warmth
Bag Size
10 lb bag
Grains Listed
Corn, wheat, milo, barley, oats, sunflower seeds and millet, including purple corn
Stated Protein
Not stated as a figure, listing only says high protein and high fibre
Certifications
Naturally non-GMO, no artificial colours or flavours, made in the USA
Corn And Soy
Contains corn, soy status not stated
Feeding Guidance
Listed for mixed flocks of chickens, ducks, geese, turkeys and gamebirds as an energy source

Why the Manna Pro 7-Grain wins this category

Because it tells you what you are buying and charges very little for the privilege. Seven grains are named on the label: corn, wheat, milo, barley, oats, sunflower seeds and millet, with purple corn in the mix.

Compare that with the rest of the page. Sommer's calls itself an 8-grain blend and names cracked corn. Scratch and Peck sells a scratch blend with corn without itemising it. Small Pet Select names no grain at all. In a category where the bag is opaque, a printed list is most of the information available.

The price gap is what settles it. The three grain Manna Pro Ultimate is $14.99 and this is $15.49, so four extra named grains cost $0.50. That is a small amount of money for a much wider spread of seeds and cereals.

Living with the Manna Pro 7-Grain

Variety is the practical benefit. Barley, oats, millet and sunflower behave differently in a scatter, so birds work through them at different rates and spend longer foraging, which is the real reason to feed scratch at all.

The 10 lb bag suits the way most people should be using scratch. At 10 percent or less of the diet, a small flock takes weeks to work through it, and a smaller bag means the grain is fresher when it is eaten. Tip it into a sealed container anyway, because paper sacks draw rodents.

It is listed for mixed flocks including ducks, geese, turkeys and gamebirds, which is convenient if your yard is not all chickens, though the same 10 percent restraint applies to every species in it.

Where the Manna Pro 7-Grain falls short

No protein figure. The listing reaches for high protein and high fibre without printing a guaranteed analysis, and a claim without a number cannot be compared with anything. Pink Rose Organix is the only bag here that publishes one.

Soy is the same story. The bag contains corn and says nothing about soy, which is true of four of the six bags on this page and is a real gap for anyone avoiding it deliberately.

The cost per pound is the third thing. About $1.55 a pound is nearly double the $0.83 of the 40 lb Sommer's Crazy 8, so if you have a big flock and feed scratch daily, this is the more expensive habit.

There is also a behavioural cost to variety. Hens sort, and a seven grain mix gives them more to sort through, so millet and hulls can end up sitting in the litter. Scatter thinly and widely rather than tipping it in one place.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the published ingredient list, bag weight and price per pound, certification wording and the absence of a guaranteed analysis figure, compared against the five other bags here.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer ingredient list, bag size and certification wording from the live Amazon listing; Price per pound calculated and compared across all six bags in this guide; Standard poultry guidance that treats should stay at 10 percent or less of a complete diet.

Best for
A backyard flock where scratch is a daily foraging treat and you want to know exactly which grains are in the bag.
Skip it if
You feed scratch to a large flock most days, because a 10 lb bag at about $1.55 a pound adds up quickly against a 40 lb option.
The limitation to plan around
The missing protein figure is the thing to plan around. Treat this as energy and enrichment, keep it to 10 percent or less of the diet, and let a complete layer ration do the nutritional work.

2 Best Cost Per Pound for a Big Flock

Sommer's Wild Bird Food Crazy 8 Chicken Scratch Grain Mix – 40 lb Chicken & Poultry Treat Blend | Backyard Flock Snack with Cracked Corn, Grains & Seeds Bulk Size

Sommer's Wild Bird Food Crazy 8 Chicken Scratch Grain Mix (Sommer's Crazy 8)

At $32.99 for 40 lb this works out at about $0.83 a pound, comfortably the cheapest scratch in this guide, and the trade is that the bag names almost nothing about what is in it.

What we liked

  • About $0.83 a pound, the cheapest per pound of the six bags here
  • 40 lb bag means fewer trips and a lower unit cost for a large flock
  • Described as an 8-grain blend, so there is more variety than a three grain mix
  • Cracked corn is named, which is the grain most flocks go for first
  • Sold as a scatter treat or supplemental feed, so it suits ordinary foraging use

What we did not

  • Only cracked corn is named, with the other seven grains left as unspecified grains and seeds
  • No protein figure and no guaranteed analysis, so there is nothing to compare against a layer ration
  • No certifications are stated, so there is no organic or non-GMO assurance behind the price
  • A 40 lb bag fed at 10 percent of the diet can sit open for months and go stale without a sealed metal bin

Key specifications

Size
1 Count (Pack of 1)
Weight
40 pounds
Bag Size
40 lb bag
Grains Listed
8-grain blend, listing names cracked corn plus unspecified grains and seeds
Stated Protein
Not stated
Certifications
Not stated
Corn And Soy
Contains cracked corn, soy status not stated
Feeding Guidance
Scatter on the ground as a treat or supplemental feed, no percentage limit stated

Why the Sommer's Crazy 8 wins on cost

Because the arithmetic is not close. Thirty two dollars and ninety nine cents for 40 lb is about $0.83 a pound. The next cheapest bags on this page sit near $1.50, and the dearest is about $2.50. That is a three to one spread from top to bottom.

For a small flock getting a handful twice a week, none of that matters much. For a dozen or more birds getting a daily scatter, it is the difference between a bag a month and a bag a season in real money.

It is described as an 8-grain blend, so the variety is at least as wide as the seven named grains in the Manna Pro 7-Grain. The difference is that you are told which seven in one case and not in the other.

Living with the Sommer's Crazy 8

The 40 lb sack is the practical reality of this purchase. It is heavy, it takes up floor space, and at a sensible feeding rate of 10 percent or less of the diet it will last a long time.

That makes storage the deciding factor for whether this bag is a bargain or a waste. Grain left in a paper sack in a shed goes stale, absorbs moisture and draws rodents, which is how a cheap bag ends up costing more than an expensive one. Tip it into a sealed metal bin the day it arrives.

Feeding is straightforward. It is sold to scatter on the ground as a treat or supplemental feed, which is the right way to use any scratch, since spreading it thinly is what turns feeding into foraging.

Where the Sommer's Crazy 8 falls short

The information is thin. Eight grains are claimed and one is named. You know there is cracked corn in there and you are trusting the rest. If you are the sort of keeper who reads labels, this will bother you, and it should be weighed against the saving.

There is no protein figure and no guaranteed analysis, which puts it in the majority on this page but still leaves you unable to judge how much you are diluting the layer ration when you feed it.

No certifications are stated either, so there is no organic, non-GMO or soy status assurance. Four of the six bags here never state soy status, and this is one of them.

None of that makes it a bad buy. It makes it a cheap, plain, unlabelled bag of mixed grain, which is exactly what scratch has been for a very long time.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the bag weight, price per pound, the extent of the ingredient disclosure and the absence of any protein figure or certification, compared with the five other bags here.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer bag size, blend description and feeding wording from the live Amazon listing; Price per pound calculated and compared across all six bags in this guide; Standard poultry guidance that treats should stay at 10 percent or less of a complete diet.

Best for
A larger flock that gets scattered scratch most days, where the cost per pound over a season matters more than a printed ingredient list.
Skip it if
You want to know exactly which grains your birds are eating, or you need organic or non-GMO assurance on the bag.
The limitation to plan around
Storage is the thing to plan around. Forty pounds fed as a treat lasts a long time, so it needs a sealed metal bin to stay fresh and to keep rodents out of it.

3 Best for Certified Organic Feeding

Scratch and Peck Feeds | Scratch + Corn for Chickens & Ducks | 10 lb Pouch

Scratch and Peck Feeds (S&P Scratch + Corn)

The only bag here carrying both USDA Organic and Non-GMO Project certification, and the only one that prints the 10 percent feeding limit, at about $2.50 a pound the dearest per pound in this guide.

What we liked

  • Carries USDA Organic and Non-GMO Project certification, the strongest certification pairing here
  • The only listing on this page that states a feeding limit of 10 percent or less of the diet
  • No fillers and no medications, which suits keepers who want a plain uncomplicated treat
  • Sold in a 10 lb pouch, so the grain is used up while it is still fresh
  • Fits a flock already on an organic complete ration without breaking the certification chain

What we did not

  • About $2.50 a pound, three times the $0.83 a pound of the 40 lb Sommer's Crazy 8
  • The grains are not itemised, so you are paying for certification without a printed ingredient list
  • No protein figure is given, so the certification tells you how it was grown and nothing about what it delivers
  • Soy status is not stated even though the bag carries organic certification

Key specifications

Dimensions
8 x 4.5 x 11 in (L x W x H)
Weight
10 pounds
Bag Size
10 lb pouch
Grains Listed
Not itemised, sold as a scratch blend with corn
Stated Protein
Not stated
Certifications
USDA Organic and Non-GMO Project certified, no fillers or medications
Corn And Soy
Contains corn, soy status not stated
Feeding Guidance
Treat only, limit to 10 percent or less of a complete diet

Why the S&P Scratch + Corn suits organic feeding

Certification is the whole product here. USDA Organic and Non-GMO Project are both audited schemes with paperwork behind them, and this is the only bag in this comparison that carries the pair. Pink Rose Organix is USDA Certified Organic and non-GMO, which is close, and the other four carry no organic certification at all.

If your hens are already on an organic complete ration, feeding a conventional scratch alongside it undoes part of what you are paying for. This closes that gap.

There is a second, quieter reason it earns a slot. It is the only listing on this page that prints a feeding limit, 10 percent or less of a complete diet. That single line is more useful nutritional guidance than every other bag here manages between them.

Living with the S&P Scratch + Corn

The 10 lb pouch is the right size for how scratch should actually be fed. At a proper 10 percent rate a small flock takes weeks to get through it, and a smaller pack means the grain is still fresh when the last of it goes out.

The no fillers and no medications wording is worth reading literally rather than as reassurance. Scratch should not contain medication in any case, and this is not a supplement or a treatment. It is a plain treat food and it should be chosen on that basis.

Physically the pouch is compact at 8 by 4.5 by 11 in, which means it fits in a bin alongside the main feed rather than needing its own storage.

Where the S&P Scratch + Corn falls short

Cost is the honest headline. About $2.50 a pound makes it the dearest per pound in this guide, roughly three times the $0.83 a pound of the 40 lb Sommer's Crazy 8 and well above the roughly $1.50 of Pink Rose Organix, which is also certified organic.

That comparison with Pink Rose is the awkward one. Both carry organic certification. One costs about $1.00 more per pound and does not print a protein figure while the other does. The 10 lb pouch versus a 40 lb bag explains most of that difference, and it is still a difference.

The missing ingredient list is the second gap. It is sold as a scratch blend with corn without itemising the grains, so you know exactly how the crop was grown and not exactly what is in the bag.

Soy status is not stated either, which is a curious omission on a certified organic product where buyers are more likely than average to care about it.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the certification wording, the printed feeding limit, the bag size and the price per pound, and compared with the other five bags on ingredient disclosure and cost.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer certification wording, bag size and feeding guidance from the live Amazon listing; Price per pound calculated and compared across all six bags in this guide; Comparison of stated feeding limits, which only this listing provides.

Best for
A flock already fed a certified organic ration, where keeping the whole diet inside the same certification is the point of the purchase.
Skip it if
Cost per pound is what you are optimising, since three of the bags here come in at about $1.50 a pound or less.
The limitation to plan around
Price per pound is the thing to plan around. At about $2.50 a pound this only makes sense as an occasional treat, which is exactly how the bag itself says to use it.

4 Best If You Want the Numbers on the Bag

Pink Rose Organix Chicken Scratch Grain, 40lbs - 13.5% Protein, Non-GMO, USDA Certified Organic Blend - Supports Digestion & Immune Health - Soy & Corn-Free

Pink Rose Organix Chicken Scratch Grain

The only bag in this guide that prints a protein figure, 13.5 percent, on a certified organic, corn free and soy free 40 lb bag that works out at about $1.50 a pound despite the $59.99 sticker.

What we liked

  • Publishes 13.5 percent protein, 5 percent fat and 4 percent fibre, the only figures on this page
  • USDA Certified Organic and non-GMO, with no drugs or antibiotics
  • Corn free and soy free, one of only two bags here that state both
  • About $1.50 a pound, cheaper per pound than three of the other five bags
  • Black oil sunflower seed, flax seed and peas are all named on the label

What we did not

  • The $59.99 sticker is the highest here, so the low cost per pound only helps if you can commit to 40 lb at once
  • At 13.5 percent protein it still sits below a normal layer ration of about 16 to 18 percent, so heavy feeding still dilutes the diet
  • The listing's digestion and immune health wording is a seller description of a treat food, not a demonstrated effect
  • Sunflower, flax and peas are a narrower spread than a seven grain cereal mix, so hens get less variety to forage through

Key specifications

Dimensions
26 x 15 x 4 in (L x W x H)
Weight
40 pounds
Bag Size
40 lb bag
Grains Listed
Black oil sunflower seed, flax seed and peas
Stated Protein
13.5 percent protein, 5 percent fat, 4 percent fibre
Certifications
USDA Certified Organic and non-GMO, no drugs or antibiotics
Corn And Soy
Corn free and soy free
Feeding Guidance
Sold for foraging enrichment, no percentage limit stated

Why the Pink Rose Organix wins on disclosure

Five of the six bags on this page tell you nothing about protein. This one prints 13.5 percent protein, 5 percent fat and 4 percent fibre, which makes it the only product here you can compare against anything.

That is worth more than it first appears. Scratch dilutes a laying hen's diet, and how much it dilutes it depends on what the scratch actually contains. With a figure in front of you, you can work out what a daily handful is doing. Without one, you are guessing, which is where most keepers are with most scratch.

The certification is real too, USDA Certified Organic and non-GMO with no drugs or antibiotics, and the bag is corn free and soy free, which only one other product here can say.

Living with the Pink Rose Organix

The price per pound is the pleasant surprise. Fifty nine dollars and ninety nine cents looks like the most expensive thing on this page, and 40 lb brings it down to about $1.50 a pound, which is less per pound than the Manna Pro 7-Grain, Small Pet Select and Scratch and Peck. Certified organic scratch does not have to cost more per pound than a small conventional bag.

The ingredient list reads differently from a standard scratch. Black oil sunflower seed, flax seed and peas rather than the usual corn, wheat and milo. That is what makes it corn free, and it also means a richer, oilier mix than a plain cereal scatter.

The bag is a full 40 lb sack at 26 by 15 by 4 in, so it needs storing properly. A sealed metal bin keeps it fresh and keeps rodents out, which matters more with a bag this size.

Where the Pink Rose Organix falls short

Thirteen and a half percent protein is a number, and it is still below where a laying hen's diet needs to be. A complete layer ration normally runs about 16 to 18 percent. Feeding this heavily still dilutes the ration, and shell quality is usually the first thing to suffer. The number is useful because it tells you that, not because it makes the scratch a feed.

The health wording deserves the same scepticism you would apply anywhere else. Supporting digestion and immune health is the seller's description of a bag of seeds. This is not a supplement and it does not treat anything. If a bird is unwell, the answer is a vet, not a different treat.

The 40 lb commitment is the practical drawback. At 10 percent of the diet, a flock of six takes a very long time to get through 40 lb, so the good price per pound is only real if you have the birds and the storage to use it.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the published guaranteed analysis, certification wording, named ingredients and price per pound, and compared against the other five bags on what each one actually discloses.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer guaranteed analysis, certification and ingredient list from the live Amazon listing; Price per pound calculated and compared across all six bags in this guide; Typical complete layer ration protein levels of about 16 to 18 percent used as the comparison point.

Best for
Anyone who wants a guaranteed analysis on the bag and is happy to buy 40 lb at once to get organic, corn free and soy free scratch.
Skip it if
You only feed scratch occasionally, because a 40 lb bag will sit for a very long time at a sensible 10 percent feeding rate.
The limitation to plan around
The 13.5 percent protein figure is the thing to keep in perspective. It is still below a layer ration, so this is a treat with numbers on it rather than a feed you can lean on.

5 Best Corn Free Bag Without a 40 lb Commitment

Small Pet Select Sustainable Chicken Scratch, Non-GMO, Corn Free, 10 lb

Small Pet Select Sustainable Chicken Scratch

The only corn free and soy free scratch here sold in a 10 lb bag rather than a 40 lb sack, which is its whole reason to exist, since at about $2.30 a pound it is the second dearest in this guide.

What we liked

  • Corn free and soy free in a 10 lb bag, where the only other corn free option is a 40 lb sack
  • Non-GMO and made in small batches
  • A 10 lb bag is used up while it is still fresh, which suits an occasional treat
  • Locally sourced Pacific Northwest ingredients for buyers who care where feed comes from
  • Fits alongside the main feed in a normal storage bin rather than needing its own

What we did not

  • Not a single grain is named anywhere on the listing, which is the least ingredient disclosure on this page
  • About $2.30 a pound, roughly 50 percent more per pound than the corn free Pink Rose Organix
  • No protein figure and no guaranteed analysis, so there is nothing to compare against a layer ration
  • No feeding guidance at all, so the 10 percent limit has to be brought in from elsewhere

Key specifications

Dimensions
18 x 6 x 12 in (L x W x H)
Weight
10 pounds
Colour
green
Bag Size
10 lb bag
Grains Listed
Not stated, listing only says locally sourced Pacific Northwest ingredients
Stated Protein
Not stated
Certifications
Non-GMO, made in small batches
Corn And Soy
Corn free and soy free
Feeding Guidance
Not stated

Why the Small Pet Select earns a slot

It fills a specific gap. Two bags in this comparison are corn free and soy free. One of them, Pink Rose Organix, comes only as a 40 lb sack. This one comes as 10 lb.

That difference matters more than it sounds. Scratch should be 10 percent or less of the diet, so a flock of half a dozen hens takes a long time to work through 40 lb, and grain that sits for months goes stale whatever bin it is in. If corn free is a requirement and your flock is small, this is the practical answer.

Non-GMO and small batch production is the rest of the pitch, along with locally sourced Pacific Northwest ingredients, which will appeal to buyers who care about supply chains.

Living with the Small Pet Select

The 10 lb bag is easy to handle and stores alongside the main feed rather than needing a bin of its own. At 18 by 6 by 12 in it slots into a normal shelf.

Corn free changes how a scratch behaves in the run. Corn is usually the first thing hens pick out of a mix, so a corn free blend tends to get eaten more evenly rather than sorted through and abandoned. That is a genuine practical benefit if leftover grain in the litter is a problem for you.

Feeding is your own call, since the listing gives no guidance. Use the same 10 percent or less limit that Scratch and Peck prints on its own bag, and scatter only what the flock clears in ten to fifteen minutes.

Where the Small Pet Select falls short

It names no grains. Not one. Locally sourced Pacific Northwest ingredients describes geography, not contents, and this is the only bag on this page where you cannot find out what is inside before you buy it. For a product whose selling point is what it leaves out, saying nothing about what it puts in is an odd choice.

The price per pound is the second issue. About $2.30 a pound makes it the second dearest in this guide, and the other corn free and soy free option, Pink Rose Organix, is about $1.50 a pound. You are paying roughly 50 percent more per pound for the smaller bag.

There is no protein figure and no feeding guidance either, so on the two questions this guide cares about most, disclosure and cost, it comes last and second last respectively. The 10 lb corn free bag size is what keeps it on the page.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the stated corn free and soy free status, bag size, price per pound and the complete absence of a named ingredient list or guaranteed analysis.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer bag size, sourcing wording and corn free claim from the live Amazon listing; Price per pound calculated and compared across all six bags in this guide; Comparison of ingredient disclosure across all six listings here.

Best for
A small flock where corn free matters to you and buying a 40 lb sack of anything would mean most of it going stale.
Skip it if
You want to know what your birds are eating, because this listing names no grains at all.
The limitation to plan around
The missing ingredient list is the thing to plan around. You are buying a corn free promise and a bag size, and you will not know what is in the mix until you open it.

6 Best for Less Waste Under the Feeder

Manna Pro Ultimate Chicken Scratch Multigrain Treat, 10 lb Bag

Manna Pro Ultimate Chicken Scratch Multigrain Treat

Three named grains, corn, milo and wheat, at the lowest sticker price on this page, and a short list is the one honest answer to hens sorting a mix and leaving half of it in the litter.

What we liked

  • Only three grains, corn, milo and wheat, so there is far less for hens to sort and reject
  • The lowest sticker price in this guide at $14.99
  • All three grains are named on the label rather than hidden behind a blend description
  • Non-GMO ingredients with no artificial colours or flavours, US ingredients
  • A 10 lb bag is used up while it is still fresh at a sensible feeding rate

What we did not

  • Three grains give hens much less foraging variety than a seven or eight grain mix
  • No protein figure and no guaranteed analysis, so it cannot be compared against a layer ration
  • At about $1.50 a pound it costs nearly twice the $0.83 a pound of the 40 lb Sommer's Crazy 8
  • Soy status is not stated, which is a gap if you are avoiding soy on purpose

Key specifications

Dimensions
5.5 x 14 x 16.5 in (L x W x H)
Weight
10 pounds
Bag Size
10 lb bag
Grains Listed
Corn, milo and wheat
Stated Protein
Not stated
Certifications
Non-GMO ingredients, no artificial colours or flavours, US ingredients
Corn And Soy
Contains corn, soy status not stated
Feeding Guidance
Sold as a supplement and boredom buster, no percentage limit stated

Why the Manna Pro Ultimate cuts waste

Chickens sort. Offered a mixed scratch they take the cracked corn and the sunflower first and leave the millet, the milo hulls and the smaller seed sitting in the litter, where it dampens, moulds or feeds rodents. That is the hidden cost of a wide mix and nobody prints it on a bag.

A three grain mix is the simple answer. Corn, milo and wheat are all things hens actually want, so much less of what you scatter is still there in the morning. If you have watched a seven grain scatter turn into a carpet of rejected seed, this is the fix.

It is also the cheapest sticker price on this page at $14.99, which is $0.50 less than the seven grain version from the same maker.

Living with the Manna Pro Ultimate

The 10 lb bag is right for the way scratch should be used. Kept to 10 percent or less of the diet, a small flock takes weeks to get through it and the grain stays fresh throughout. It stores in a normal bin without needing its own container.

Non-GMO ingredients, no artificial colours or flavours and US ingredients is the certification story, which is plainer than the organic bags here and matches the plainer product.

It is sold as a supplement and a boredom buster. That framing is honest. Scattering a small amount gets birds moving and scratching on a wet afternoon, and that is most of what a scratch mix is for.

Where the Manna Pro Ultimate falls short

Variety is the thing you give up, and it is a real loss. Foraging interest is half the reason to feed scratch, and three grains keep birds busy for less time than seven or eight do. If your flock is confined and bored, the wider mix is the better tool.

There is no protein figure, which is true of five of the six bags here but still leaves you unable to judge how much a daily handful dilutes the layer ration.

Soy status is not stated, which is worth noting if you are avoiding it deliberately.

On cost, the low sticker price does not carry through to cost per pound. About $1.50 a pound is nearly double the $0.83 of the 40 lb Sommer's Crazy 8, so the cheapest bag on the page is only the second cheapest scratch per pound.

Research based, not hands-on

Assessed on the three named grains, the bag size and price per pound, the certification wording and the absence of a guaranteed analysis, compared against the wider mixes here.

Recommendation based on: Manufacturer ingredient list, bag size and certification wording from the live Amazon listing; Price per pound calculated and compared across all six bags in this guide; Comparison of grain counts against the sorting behaviour that leaves rejected seed in the litter.

Best for
A flock that picks the corn out of a mixed scratch and leaves the millet and hulls rotting in the litter.
Skip it if
You feed scratch mainly for enrichment, because three grains give the birds much less to work through than a wider mix.
The limitation to plan around
Variety is the thing to plan around. A short grain list cuts waste and it also cuts the foraging interest that is half the point of feeding scratch at all.

How we compared these scratch grains

The first thing done to every bag was to divide the price by the weight, because sticker price is the number that misleads people in this category and price per pound is the one that decides what you actually spend over a year.

After that, four questions. Does the listing name the grains, or does it just say a blend? Does it print a protein figure, or only adjectives? What certifications does it carry, and what do they actually cover? And does it state a feeding limit as a percentage of the diet, which is the one piece of nutritional guidance that matters here?

Nothing was fed to a flock for this comparison. This is published label information, listing wording and the arithmetic anyone can do at the shelf.

What actually matters in a scratch mix

Price per pound, not price per bag

Here is the whole page in one paragraph. Sommer's Crazy 8 works out at about $0.83 a pound. Pink Rose Organix and the Manna Pro Ultimate both land near $1.50. The Manna Pro 7-Grain is about $1.55. Small Pet Select is about $2.30 and Scratch and Peck about $2.50, which makes it the dearest per pound in this comparison.

That spread is roughly three to one from top to bottom. If your flock gets scratch most days, that difference is real money over a season.

It also breaks the assumption that a small bag is the cheap option. The $59.99 sticker on the Pink Rose 40 lb bag looks like the most expensive thing here, and per pound it is cheaper than three of the other five and level with a fourth.

Whether the bag publishes a protein figure

Only Pink Rose Organix gives one: 13.5 percent protein, 5 percent fat, 4 percent fibre. Every other bag on this page is silent, and the Manna Pro 7-Grain reaches for high protein and high fibre with no number attached at all.

That is worth knowing rather than worrying about, because scratch is not meant to carry the diet. A complete layer ration usually runs around 16 to 18 percent protein, so even the one published scratch figure sits below it. Scratch is energy and entertainment, not nutrition.

The reason to want the number anyway is that it tells you how far you are diluting the ration when you feed it. Without a figure you are guessing.

Named grains versus a blend

Manna Pro 7-Grain lists corn, wheat, milo, barley, oats, sunflower seeds and millet, including purple corn. Manna Pro Ultimate lists corn, milo and wheat. Pink Rose lists black oil sunflower seed, flax seed and peas.

The other three are vaguer. Sommer's calls itself an 8-grain blend and names only cracked corn. Scratch and Peck sells a scratch blend with corn without itemising it. Small Pet Select does not name a single grain and instead describes locally sourced Pacific Northwest ingredients.

A named list is not automatically better feed. It is better information, and in a category where you cannot see through the bag, information is most of what you are buying.

Corn, soy and organic claims

Two bags here are corn free and soy free, Pink Rose Organix and Small Pet Select. The other four contain corn, and four of the six never state soy status at all, which is a gap if you are avoiding soy deliberately.

Certification does not track price here. Scratch and Peck carries USDA Organic and Non-GMO Project certification and is the dearest bag on the page at about $2.50 a pound, while Pink Rose is USDA Certified Organic and non-GMO at about $1.50 a pound, which is less per pound than the non-organic Small Pet Select. Those are audited schemes covering how the grain was grown and handled.

Marketing wording is different from certification, and it is worth separating the two. Where a listing says a blend supports digestion or immune health, that is the seller's description of a treat food and not a demonstrated effect. No scratch mix on this page is a supplement, and none of them treats anything.

How much scratch is safe to feed

Scratch and Peck is the only listing here that prints a limit, 10 percent or less of a complete diet. Apply that figure to all six, because it is the standard guidance and none of these mixes is nutritionally different enough to change it.

In practice, 10 percent of a quarter pound daily ration is about one to two tablespoons per bird. Scatter only what the flock clears in ten to fifteen minutes. Anything still on the ground after that is feeding rodents rather than hens.

Two other habits are worth building. Scatter thinly and widely, because a heap gets sorted and a spread gets foraged, which is the point of scratch in the first place. And offer insoluble grit free choice if your birds are not ranging over stony ground, since whole grains need grit in the gizzard to be ground up at all.

Storage matters more with a 40 lb bag than a 10 lb one. At a proper 10 percent feeding rate, a big bag can sit open for months, and grain in a paper sack goes stale and draws rodents. A sealed metal bin solves both.

Final recommendation

The Manna Pro 7-Grain is the pick for most flocks. Seven named grains including barley, oats, sunflower and millet cost $0.50 more than the three grain Manna Pro Ultimate, which is a small premium for a much better spread of ingredients and a bag that tells you what is in it.

If you keep a big flock and feed scratch regularly, Sommer's Crazy 8 is about $0.83 a pound, comfortably the cheapest here, and the saving over a season is substantial. If you want certification and numbers on the bag, Pink Rose Organix is the only one that prints a protein figure and it is about $1.50 a pound despite the $59.99 sticker. And if your birds sort the mix and leave half of it in the litter, the three grain Manna Pro Ultimate gives them less to pick through.

Questions people ask before buying

How much scratch can I feed a day?

The figure most keepers work to is 10 percent or less of the total daily diet, and Scratch and Peck is the only listing here that prints it. A standard laying hen eats roughly a quarter of a pound a day, so 10 percent is around one to two tablespoons per bird. A rough rule that works in practice is to scatter only what the flock clears in about ten to fifteen minutes. Anything beyond that starts displacing the balanced ration.

Can scratch replace layer feed?

No, and this is the mistake that costs people eggs. A complete layer ration normally runs about 16 to 18 percent protein and carries the calcium, vitamins and amino acids a laying hen needs. Only Pink Rose Organix publishes a figure here, 13.5 percent protein, and even that sits below a layer ration. Feed heavy scratch and you dilute the whole diet. Shell quality and lay rate are usually the first things to slip.

Why do my hens leave half the mix behind?

Because they sort. Given a choice, chickens pick out the cracked corn and the sunflower first and leave millet, milo and hulls sitting in the litter, where it goes mouldy or feeds rodents. This is the honest argument for a plain three grain mix like the Manna Pro Ultimate, where there is less for them to sort through. If you feed a wider mix, scatter it thinly over a large area rather than tipping it in a heap.

Do chickens need grit if I feed scratch?

Yes, if they are not ranging over ground where they can pick up their own. Whole and cracked grains have to be ground up in the gizzard, and that only works if there is insoluble grit in there to do the grinding. Birds on pasture usually find enough small stones themselves. Birds in a run on bedding or bare soil often do not, so offer insoluble grit free choice in a separate small container and let them take what they need.

Does a handful of corn at bedtime keep hens warm in winter?

It is a popular idea and the evidence behind it is thin. Digesting any feed produces a little heat, and there is nothing special about corn in that respect. What definitely helps a flock through cold weather is a dry draught free coop, unfrozen water and a full complete ration. If you want to give an evening treat in winter, keep it inside the same 10 percent limit that applies in summer rather than increasing it.

Is organic or corn free scratch worth paying for?

That depends on what you want from it rather than on any health claim you can rely on. Certification tells you how the grain was grown and handled, and Pink Rose Organix at about $1.50 a pound shows organic does not have to cost more per pound than a small conventional bag. Corn free matters if you are managing a specific ingredient in your own kitchen eggs. None of these bags is a medicine, and none should be chosen to treat a health problem in a flock. That is a conversation for a vet.

Why you can trust this guide

Written by
Sam Reddick, Lead gear reviewer, Chicken Geek. Specialist areas: Coop design and predator proofing, Feeding and watering systems, Cold-weather flock management, Incubation and brooding.
Fact checked by
Marta Voss
Published
August 8, 2026 · Last updated August 8, 2026 · Products and links rechecked August 8, 2026
How we picked
Every bag was reduced to a price per pound and compared on that basis rather than on sticker price, then judged on whether the listing names the grains it contains, whether it prints a protein figure, what certifications it carries, whether it is corn free or soy free, and whether it states a feeding limit as a percentage of the diet.
Evidence used
None of the 6 products on this page were sent to us or bought for a hands-on test. Every recommendation here is research based: manufacturer specifications, listed dimensions and materials, owner feedback at volume, and comparison against equipment our team has owned. Each review states this again above the buy button so you are never guessing which kind of evidence sits behind a pick.
Editorial standards
No brand pays for placement, and no manufacturer sees this page before it goes live. Read our editorial policy and testing method.
Affiliate disclosure
Chicken Geek is reader supported. We earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no extra cost to you, and no brand has paid for a placement or an award here.

About the author

Monogram avatar with the initials S R

Sam Reddick

Lead gear reviewer, Chicken Geek

Sam has kept a backyard laying flock for eleven years, through two coop rebuilds, one very determined raccoon and several winters cold enough to freeze a waterer solid overnight. He writes the buying guides at Chicken Geek and is responsible for how products get compared.

  • Eleven years keeping a mixed laying flock of 8 to 14 birds
  • Has built, bought and replaced six different coops
  • Runs the product comparison framework used across Chicken Geek
  • Reads manufacturer manuals, spec sheets and warranty terms before every recommendation